FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company

Joseph J. Hagan President and Chief Nuclear Officer 76 South Main Street Akron, Ohio 44308

330-761-7895 Fax: 330-384-3799

May 28, 2008 L-08-199

10 CFR 50.75

ATTN: Document Control Desk U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Washington, DC 20555-0001

SUBJECT:

Beaver Valley Power Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2 Docket Nos. 50-334, 50-412; License Nos. DPR-66, NPF-73

Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Unit No. 1 Docket No. 50-346, License No. NPF-3

Perry Nuclear Power Plant Unit No. 1 Docket No. 50-440, License No. NPF-58

Three Mile Island Nuclear Station Unit No. 2 Docket No. 50-320, License No. DPR-73 <u>Notice of Change in Trustee for Nuclear Decommissioning Trusts</u>

The FirstEnergy Nuclear Operating Company (FENOC), acting on behalf of FirstEnergy Nuclear Generation Corp., Ohio Edison Company, The Toledo Edison Company, Metropolitan Edison Company, Jersey Central Power and Light Company, and Pennsylvania Electric Company, hereby provides notice that effective July 1, 2008, The Bank of New York Mellon will be the trustee for the nuclear decommissioning trusts maintained for the above captioned licenses. This change results from a corporate restructuring involving the current trustees, Mellon Bank, N.A. and The Bank of New York.

Mellon Bank, N.A. is currently Trustee pursuant to the following trust agreements:

1. Nuclear Decommissioning Trust Agreement dated as of December 1, 2005, by and between FirstEnergy Nuclear Generation Corp. and Mellon Bank, N.A., as Trustee.

Beaver Valley Power Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2 Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Unit No. 1 Perry Nuclear Power Plant Unit No. 1 Three Mile Island Nuclear Station Unit No. 2 L-08-199 Page 2 of 3

فسيه المرتكو

- 2. Ohio Edison Company, Master Decommissioning Trust Agreement for Perry Nuclear Power Plant Unit One, Perry Nuclear Power Plant Unit Two, Beaver Valley Power Station Unit One and Beaver Valley Power Station Unit 2, dated July 1, 1993, as amended.
- 3. Decommissioning Trust Agreement dated as of September 30, 1988 between The Toledo Edison Company and Ameritrust Company National Association, as Trustee, as amended, including Amendment No. 2 (appointing Mellon Bank, N.A. as successor Trustee).

The Bank of New York is currently Trustee pursuant to the following trust agreement:

1. Indentures dated as of October 25, 1990 by and among Metropolitan Edison Company, Pennsylvania Electric Company and Jersey Central Power and Light Company (the "Companies") and The Bank of New York as Trustee, as amended.

The trust agreements will not be amended, and the existing terms of the trust agreements will continue uninterrupted. As a result of the restructuring, The Bank of New York Mellon will have all of the same obligations and responsibilities under the trust agreements as Mellon Bank, N.A. and The Bank of New York. Previously, Mellon Bank, N.A. was owned by Mellon Financial Corporation, and The Bank of New York was owned by The Bank of New York Company. However, last year, Mellon Financial Corporation and The Bank of New York merged to form a holding company, The Bank of New York Mellon Corporation. Following the merger, Mellon Bank, N.A. and The Bank of New York remained the trustees for their respective trusts and will continue as such until the planned restructuring is completed on the target date of July 1, 2008. At that time, The Bank of New York Mellon will be the trustee, having all of the obligations and responsibilities of the trustees under the existing terms of the trust agreements.

The restructuring is occurring by operation of law, and no amendments to the trust agreements are required. However, the next time that amendments to the trust agreements may be required for another reason, the trust agreements will likely also be amended to reflect that The Bank of New York Mellon is the Trustee.

Beaver Valley Power Station Unit Nos. 1 and 2 Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station Unit No. 1 Perry Nuclear Power Plant Unit No. 1 Three Mile Island Nuclear Station Unit No. 2 L-08-199 Page 3 of 3

There are no regulatory commitments contained in this letter. If there are any questions or if additional information is required, please contact Mr. Thomas A. Lentz, Manager – Fleet Licensing, at (330) 761-6071.

Sincerely,

cc: NRC Region I Administrator NRC Region III Administrator NRC Director, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation NRR Project Manager - Beaver Valley Power Station NRR Project Manager - Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station NRR Project Manager - Perry Nuclear Power Plant NRR Project Manager - Three Mile Island Nuclear Station Unit 2 NRC Resident Inspector - Beaver Valley Power Station NRC Resident Inspector - Davis-Besse Nuclear Power Station NRC Resident Inspector - Perry Nuclear Power Plant NRC Resident Inspector - Three Mile Island Nuclear Station Unit 2 **Director BRP/DEP** Site Representative BRP/DEP Executive Director, Ohio Emergency Management Agency, State of Ohio (NRC Liaison) Utility Radiological Safety Board