United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 98-91

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Tuesday, June 16, 1998)

DR. DANA A. POWERS REAPPOINTED TO NRC's ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

Dr. Dana A. Powers, the Vice-Chairman of the Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS), has been reappointed for a four-year term.

Dr. Powers, born in Ironton, Missouri, received his B.S. degree in Chemistry and his Ph.D. degree in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering, and Economics from the California Institute of Technology. He began his career in 1974 at Sandia National Laboratory, where he currently serves as a senior scientist at the Nuclear Technology Center. Dr. Powers is responsible for the development of safety research programs for Department of Energy nuclear facilities. He has served on the Advisory Committee on Nuclear Facility Safety for DOE and for DOE's Chemical Reactions Tank Advisory Panel.

Other members of the ACRS are:

Dr. Robert L. Seale, ACRS Chairman, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ.

Dr. Thomas S. Kress, ACRS Member-At-Large, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Dr. George Apostolakis, ACRS Member, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA.

John J. Barton, ACRS Member, retired Vice-President, GPU Nuclear Corporation, Parsippany, NJ.

Dr. Mario H. Fontana, ACRS Member, Adjunct Professor, Nuclear Engineering

Department, University of Tennessee, and retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory.

Dr. Don W. Miller, ACRS Member, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH.

Dr. William J. Shack, ACRS Member, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, ACRS Member, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, TN, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, ACRS Member, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, NH.

##