United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 98-165

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Monday, September 14, 1998)

NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION HONORS EMPLOYEES

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission will hold its Twenty-first Annual Awards Ceremony on September 16 in Rockville, Maryland, to honor a number of employees for superior performance. The ceremony will be hosted by Chairman Shirley Ann Jackson who will be joined by Commissioners Nils J. Diaz and Edward McGaffigan, Jr. Executive Director for Operations L. Joseph Callan will present individual awards to employees.

Certificates for the 1997 <u>Presidential Meritorious Executive Rank Awards</u> will be presented to **Janice E. Moore**, Deputy Assistant General Counsel for Advanced Reactors, License Renewal and Special Proceedings, Office of the General Counsel; **Brian W. Sheron**, Director, Division of Engineering, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation; and **Jack R. Strosnider**, **Jr.**, Chief, Materials and Chemical Engineering Branch, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation.

One employee will receive the highest award that NRC can give to its employees, the <u>Distinguished Service Award</u>. For 1997, this honorary recipient was **Ashok C. Thadani**, Director, Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research.

Thirty-two employees will receive the NRC's <u>Meritorious Service Award</u>. It is the Commission's second highest honor and is given for meritorious achievement or service of unusual value which substantially contributes to the accomplishment of the agency's mission and has agency-wide significance. All but honorary recipients receive a \$3,000 check. Recipients of this award are:

<u>Honorary</u>

John A. Zwolinski, Acting Director, Division of Reactor Projects, Regions I/II, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Administrative Excellence

Roberta Kelley Ingram, Senior Management Analyst, Information Management Branch, Division of Inspection and Support Programs, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Mabel F. Lee, Chief, Human Resources Information Management, Office of Human Resources;

Doris F. Mossburg, Assistant for Correspondence and Records, Correspondence and Records Staff, Office of the Secretary;

Carlton "Tim" Rollins, Senior Building Management Specialist, Facility Operations Team, Facilities Branch, Division of Facilities and Security, Office of Administration;

Engineering Excellence

Sheri R. Peterson, Technical Assistant, Associate Director for Technical Review,

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Carl S. Schulten, Senior Reactor Engineer, Technical Specifications Branch, Associate Director for Projects, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Jeffrey L. Shackelford, Senior Reactor Analyst, Division of Reactor Safety, Region IV;

John O. Thoma, Section Chief, High-Level Waste Projects and Quality Assurance Section, Performance Assessment and High-Level Waste Integration Branch, Division of Waste Management, Branch, Division of Waste Management, Safeguards;

Equal Employment Opportunity Excellence

Susan Y. Smith, Senior Program Analyst, Administration and Resource Management Branch, Planning and Resource Management Division, Office of the Chief Information Officer;

Financial Management Excellence

Charlotte L. Turner, Chief, Funds Control Branch, Division of Budget and Analysis Office of the Chief Financial Officer;

Health Physicist/Scientific Excellence

Héctor Bermúdez, Senior Radiation Specialist, Materials Licensing/Inspection Branch 2, Division of Nuclear Materials Safety, Region II;

Frank Cardile, Senior Health Physicist, Section B, Rulemaking and Guidance Branch,

Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards;

Catherine T. Haney, Section Chief, Section A, Rulemaking and Guidance Branch,

Division of Industrial and Medical Nuclear Safety, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards;

Information Technology/Information Management Excellence

Jeffrey D. Main, Information Specialist (Webmaster), Publishing Services Branch, Information Management Division, Office of the Chief Information Officer;

Inspector Excellence

Jay A. Lennartz, Senior Resident Inspector, Palisades Nuclear Power Plant, Branch 6, Division of Reactor Projects, Region III;

William M. Troskoski, Senior Chemical Engineer, Inspection Section, Operations Branch, Division of Fuel Cycle Safety and Safeguards, Office of Nuclear Materials Safety and Safeguards;

Investigating/Auditing Excellence

Barry R. Letts, Director, Office of Investigations Field Office, Philadelphia Field Office;

Robert W. Shideler, Former Senior Level Assistant for Audit Policy, Planning and Reporting, Assistant Inspector General for Audits, Office of the Inspector General;

Legal Excellence

Francis X. Cameron; Deputy Assistant General Counsel and Special Counsel for Public Liaison and Agreement State Programs, Office of the General Counsel;

Management Excellence

Anthony C. Rossi, Chief, General Accounting Branch, Division of Accounting and Finance, Office of the Chief Financial Officer;

William H. Ruland, Chief, Electrical Engineering Branch, Division of Reactor Safety,

Region I;

Project Manager Excellence

Daniel H. Dorman, Project Manager, Division of Reactor Projects I/II, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Resident Inspector Excellence

Laura Collins, Resident Inspector, Quad Cities Nuclear Power Station, Reactor Projects Branch 1, Division of Reactor Projects, Region III;

Senior Resident Inspector Excellence

David C. Lew, Senior Resident Inspector, Indian Point 3 Resident Office, Projects Branch 2, Division of Reactor Projects, Region I;

Secretarial Excellence

Patricia Ann Anderson, Secretary, Office of the Executive Director for Operations;

M. Marcia Karabelnikoff, Secretary, Safety Programs Division, Office for Analysis and Evaluation of Operational Data;

Eileen D. Schultz, Secretary, Office of the Director, Office of Nuclear Material Safety and Safeguards;

Carolyn L. Sims, Secretary, Assistant General Counsel for Administration, Office of the General Counsel;

Support Staff Excellence

Margaret B. O'Brien, Licensing Assistant, Project Directorate I-2, Division of Reactor Projects I/II, Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation;

Wilma Jo Talbot, Computer Assistant, Resource Management Branch, Division of Resource Management and Administration, Region IV;

Hollis A. Turner, Technical Support Assistant, Division of Reactor Projects, Region II;