## United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 98-33

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Wednesday, February 25, 1998)

## NRC NAMES DR. GRAHAM B. WALLIS TO ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

The Nuclear Regulatory Commission has appointed Dr. Graham B. Wallis to its Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS).

Dr. Wallis received his B.A. degree (with honors) in Mechanical Sciences from Cambridge University in 1957; and his M.A. and Ph.D. degrees from Cambridge University. In 1959 he received his S.M. degree from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology where he studied Nuclear Reactor Theory and Engineering, Thermonuclear Processes, Fluid Mechanics, Mathematics, and Two-Phase Flow Research.

Dr. Wallis is presently consulting for Creare, Inc. Since 1962 he has been on the faculty at the Thayer School of Engineering at Dartmouth College, serving as Interim Dean from 1994 to 1995. He is currently the Sherman Fairchild Professor of Engineering. He was a Visiting Scholar at the Cambridge University, Department of Applied Math and Theoretical Physics and the Department of Engineering in 1995; from 1989-1993 he was Associate Dean, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth, College. Dr. Wallis has held various teaching and research positions at universities in England.

He has been an associate editor of the ASME Journal of Fluids Engineering and of the International Journal of Multiphase Flow.

The ACRS was established in 1957 by the Congress to advise the former Atomic Energy Commission, and subsequently the Nuclear Regulatory Commission, on the safety of proposed and existing nuclear facilities and the adequacy of related safety standards. The ACRS also performs such other special assignments as the Commission may request, such as the review of NRC research programs.

A list of other ACRS members follows:

CHAIRMAN: Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, AZ;

VICE-CHAIRMAN: Dr. Dana A. Powers, Manager, Nuclear Facilities Safety Department, Sandia National Laboratories, Albuquerque, NM;

Dr. George Apostolakis, Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, Massachusetts Institute of Technology, Cambridge, MA;

Mr. John B. Barton, retired Vice-President, GPU Nuclear Corporation, Parsippany, NJ;

Dr. Mario H. Fontana, Adjunct Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, and retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN;

Dr. Thomas S. Kress, retired Head of Applied Systems Technology Section, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, TN;

Dr. Don W. Miller, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, OH;

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, IL.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

##