U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs, Region IV Walnut Creek Field Office 1450 Maria Lane, Walnut Creek, CA 94596-5378

Region IV 98-02 Mark Hammond January 8, 1998 510-975-0254

NRC CHAIRMAN JACKSON AND INTERNATIONAL NUCLEAR REGULATORS SCHEDULE NEWS CONFERENCE IN LAS VEGAS

Dr. Shirley Ann Jackson, Chairman of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission, will hold a news conference next week in Las Vegas, Nevada, during a meeting of top officials of nuclear regulatory agencies in Canada, France, Germany, Japan, Spain, Sweden, Britain, and the United States.

The news conference will be at 6 p.m. Monday, January 12, at the U.S. Department of Energy's Yucca Mountain Science Center, 4101 Meadows Lane, Las Vegas. Chairman Jackson will make some brief introductory remarks and will be available for questions along with the other international regulators.

The news conference will take place at the conclusion of a five-day meeting of the International Nuclear Regulators Association (INRA). INRA members are scheduled to spend January 12 touring Yucca Mountain, the site northwest of Las Vegas being considered by the Department of Energy (DOE) as a permanent repository for the spent fuel generated in U.S. commercial nuclear reactors. NRC is the licensing agency for the repository, monitoring DOE's studies at Yucca Mountain.

Before touring Yucca Mountain, the INRA will convene at the NRC's Region IV Field office in Walnut Creek, California, and tour the DOE's Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory in Livermore, California.

The five-day international meeting will continue discussions, from the INRA's inaugural meeting last May in Paris, on national trends in electric generation and their effect on nuclear safety. It will also focus on how national regulatory approaches impact nuclear safety and the identification of key elements in nuclear safety regulation worldwide.

The INRA was created in May 1997 in an effort to enhance international cooperation and communications and thereby improve nuclear safety and the regulation of nuclear reactors and materials worldwide. Dr. Jackson is the INRA Chairman.

The INRA meets twice a year. Besides Dr. Jackson, INRA members are:

Canada: Dr. Agnes Bishop, President and Chief Executive Officer, Atomic Energy Control Board.

France: Andre-Claude Lacoste, Director, Directorate for the Safety of Nuclear Installations.

Germany: Gerald Hennenhofer, Director-General for Nuclear Safety, Federal Ministry for Environment, Nature Conservation and Nuclear Safety

Japan: Yasumasa Togo, Chairman, Nuclear Safety Commission
Tomihiro Taniguchi, Deputy Director-General, Ministry of
International Trade and Industry

Spain: Dr. Juan Manuel Kindelan, President, Council for Nuclear

Safety

Sweden: Lars Hogberg, Director-General, Nuclear Power Inspectorate

Britain: Dr. Sam A. Harbison, Director and Chief Inspector, Nuclear

Installations Inspectorate, Health and Safety Executive