United States Nuclear Regulatory Commission Office of Public Affairs Washington, DC 20555 Phone 301-415-8200 Fax 301-415-2234 Internet:opa@nrc.gov

No. 99-02

FOR IMMEDIATE RELEASE (Monday, January 4, 1999)

## CHAIRMAN, VICE-CHAIRMAN AND MEMBER-AT-LARGE ELECTED TO NRC ADVISORY COMMITTEE ON REACTOR SAFEGUARDS

Dr. Dana A. Powers has been elected Chairman, Dr. George E. Apostolakis, Vice-Chairman, and Dr. Thomas S. Kress re-elected Member-At-Large of the U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission's Advisory Committee on Reactor Safeguards (ACRS). Their terms will expire December 31, 1999.

Dr. Powers received his B.S. degree in Chemistry from the California Institute of Technology in 1970, and his Ph.D. degree in Chemistry, Chemical Engineering and Economics in 1975 from the same institution. He began his career with Sandia National Laboratory in 1974 and served as a consultant to the President's Commission on the accident at Three Mile Island. Presently, Dr. Powers is a Senior Scientist, at the Nuclear Technology Center at Sandia National Laboratory where he is responsible for the development of safety research programs for U.S. Department of Energy nuclear facilities.

Dr. Apostolakis, a native of Iraklion, Greece, studied electrical engineering at the Technical University in Athens. He received his Ph.D. in engineering science and applied mathematics from the California Institute of Technology in 1973. Dr. Apostolakis is a Professor of Nuclear Engineering at the Massachusetts Institute of Technology. Prior to joining MIT in 1995, he spent 21 years on the faculty at UCLA. He organized the first two International Conferences on Probabilistic Safety Assessment and Management (PSAM). He is currently the secretary of the International Association for PSAM.

Dr. Kress received his B.S. and M.S. degrees (both in Mechanical Engineering) from from the University of Tennessee in 1956 and 1965 respectively, and his Ph.D. in Engineering Science in 1971. Dr. Kress was with Oak Ridge National Laboratory from 1959 until his retirement in 1994. He has been involved in a wide range of issues including energy, space, military, and environmental research and development.

## Other Members of the ACRS are:

John J. Barton, retired Vice-President, GPU Nuclear Corporation, Parsipany, New Jersey.

Dr. Mario H. Fontana, Adjunct Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, and retired from Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Don W. Miller, Professor and Chair, Nuclear Engineering, Department of Mechanical Engineering, The Ohio State University, Columbus, Ohio.

Dr. William J. Shack, Associate Director, Energy Technology Division, Argonne National Laboratory, Argonne, Illinois.

Dr. Robert L. Seale, Professor Emeritus of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, Department of Nuclear and Energy Engineering, College of Engineering and Mines, University of Arizona, Tucson, Arizona.

Dr. Robert E. Uhrig, Distinguished Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department, University of Tennessee, Knoxville, Tennessee, and Distinguished Scientist, I&C Division, Oak Ridge National Laboratory, Oak Ridge, Tennessee.

Dr. Graham B. Wallis, Professor, Thayer School of Engineering, Dartmouth College, Hanover, New Hampshire.

##