March 29, 2000

MEMORANDUM TO: Harold O. Christensen, Acting Chief

Operator Licensing, Human Performance

and Plant Support Branch

Division of Inspection Program Management

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Richard P. Rosano, Chief /RA/

Reactor Safeguards Section

Operator Licensing, Human Performance

and Plant Support Branch

Division of Inspection Program Management

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE FEBRUARY 17, 2000 PUBLIC MEETING WITH

THE NUCLEAR ENERGY INSTITUTE(NEI) IN REGARDS TO THE PROPOSED SELF- ASSEMENT PROGRAM AND THE DEFINITION

OF RADIOLOGICAL SABOTAGE

On February 17, 2000, NRC staff held a public meeting with representatives from NEI industry, and the public. The purpose was to facilitate a working structure to incorporate stakeholder's comments and concerns on the restructuring of 10CFR Part 73 and establish a working criteria for radiological sabotage.

NRC staff presented for consideration certain performance goals and criteria pertaining to reactor safeguards issues (Attachments 1 & 2). This provided a framework which facilitated rulemaking-related dialogue regarding the overarching safeguards performance criteria for nuclear power plants. Stakeholders' detailed discussion of various perspectives ensued. Numerous stakeholder comments, including remarks on the integration of an appropriate margin of safety, were provided and are, in part, reflected in NEI's criteria standards (Attachment 3).

The above information and the information discussed in Attachments 1-3 were not intended as verbatim. Attachment 4 lists the attendees of the February 17, 2000, public meeting held in room T-10A1 of the NRC offices in Rockville, MD.

CONTACTS: Brad Baxter, NRR 301 415-1088

Jesse Arildsen, NRR 301 415-1026

cc: R. Beedle, NEI R. Enkeboll, NEI J. Brons, NEI

J. Davis. NEI

March 29, 2000

MEMORANDUM TO: Harold O. Christensen, Acting Chief

Operator Licensing, Human Performance

and Plant Support Branch

Division of Inspection Program Management

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

FROM: Richard P. Rosano, Chief /RA/

Reactor Safeguards Section

Operator Licensing, Human Performance

and Plant Support Branch

Division of Inspection Program Management

Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

SUBJECT: MINUTES OF THE FEBRUARY 17, 2000 PUBLIC MEETING WITH

THE NUCLEAR ENERGY INSTITUTE(NEI) IN REGARDS TO THE PROPOSED SELF- ASSEMENT PROGRAM AND THE DEFINITION

OF RADIOLOGICAL SABOTAGE

On February 17, 2000, NRC staff held a public meeting with representatives from NEI industry, and the public. The purpose was to facilitate a working structure to incorporate stakeholder's comments and concerns on the restructuring of 10CFR Part 73 and establish a working criteria for radiological sabotage.

NRC staff presented for consideration certain performance goals and criteria pertaining to reactor safeguards issues (Attachments 1 & 2). This provided a framework which facilitated rulemaking-related dialogue regarding the overarching safeguards performance criteria for nuclear power plants. Stakeholders' detailed discussion of various perspectives ensued. Numerous stakeholder comments, including remarks on the integration of an appropriate margin of safety, were provided and are, in part, reflected in NEI's criteria standards (Attachment 3).

The above information and the information discussed in Attachments 1-3 were not intended as verbatim. Attachment 4 lists the attendees of the February 17, 2000, public meeting held in room T-10A1 of the NRC offices in Rockville, MD.

Attachments: As stated

CONTACT: Jesse Arildsen, NRR

301 415-1026

Brad Baxter, NRR 301 415-1088

cc: R. Beedle, NEI

R. Enkeboll, NEI

J. Brons. NEI

J. Davis, NEI

DOCUMENT NAME:C:\MTG02-17-00-R.wpd

OFFICE	RSS:IOLB:DIPM	RSS:IOLB:DIPM	SC:IRSS:IOLB:DIPM
NAME	BBaxter	JArildsen	RRosano
DATE	03/18 /00	03/28 /00	03/ 29 /00

DISTRIBUTION:

PUBLIC

OGC

Ref. File-Mtg. Summaries

File Center

IRSS r/f

ACRS

- S. Collins/R. Zimmerman
- B. Boger/F. Gillespie, DIPM
- D. Lange
- B. Baxter
- J. Arildsen
- R. Rosano
- J. Birmingham
- J. White, Region I
- M. Tschiltz
- K. Barr, Region II
- J. Creed, Region III/DRS
- G. Good, Region IV
- A. Rayland, NMSS
- C. Emeigh, NMSS
- K. Winsberg, OGC
- D. Thompson, Region II
- T. Reis, OE