Template NRR-064

January 3, 2000

REISSUED FOR ROOM CHANGE

MEMORANDUM TO: Christopher I. Grimes, Chief License Renewal and Standardization Branch Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs

- FROM: Stephen S. Koenick, Project Manager /RA/ License Renewal and Standardization Branch Division of Regulatory Improvement Programs
- SUBJECT: FORTHCOMING MEETING WITH DUKE ENERGY CORPORATION (DUKE) AND VIRGINIA ELECTRIC AND POWER COMPANY (VEPCO) TO DISCUSS FUTURE LICENSE RENEWAL APPLICATIONS.
- DATE & TIME: Wednesday, January 12, 2000 1:30 p.m. - 3:00 p.m.

LOCATION: U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission One White Flint North 11555 Rockville Pike Rockville, Maryland O-13B4

PURPOSE: Duke has expressed interest in submitting concurrent license renewal applications for its McGuire and Catawba Nuclear Stations. Similarly, VEPCO has expressed interest in submitting concurrent applications for its Surry and North Anna Nuclear Stations. The joint meeting with Duke Energy and Virginia Power is to discuss the form of the applications with the goal of identifying efficiencies both for the applicant's preparation and the NRC staff's review of the renewal applications.

PARTICIPANTS*: Participants from the NRC include members of the Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation (NRR).

NRR DUKE S. Hoffman, NRR R. Gill. S. Lee, NRR et al. G. Bagchi, NRR et al. Docket Nos. 50-413, 50-414, 50-369, and 50-370 (DUKE) and 50-338, 50-339, 50-280, and 50-281 (VEPCO) cc: See next page CONTACT: Stephen S. Koenick, NRR 301-415-1239 VEPCO M. Henig et. al

*Meetings between NRC technical staff and applicants or licensees are open for interested members of the public, intervenors, or other parties to attend as observers pursuant to "Commission Policy Statement on Staff Meetings Open to the Public" 59 Federal Register 48340, 9/20/94. Persons attending the meeting will be given the opportunity to express their individual views on topics under discussion during the course of the meeting. Distribution: See next page

<u>G:\RLSB\Koenick\Reissued 1_12_not for room change.WPD</u>			
OFFICE	LA	RLSB	RLSB:BC
NAME	Evilton	SKoenick J	ClGrimes for
DATE	1/3/00	1/ 3/00	1/3/00

Anni, 05000280

DR

OFFICIAL RECORD COPY

Virginia Electric & Power Company

CC:

Mr. J. Jeffrey Lunsford County Administrator Louisa County P.O. Box 160 Louisa, Virginia 23093

Mr. Donald P. Irwin, Esquire Hunton and Williams Riverfront Plaza, East Tower 951 E. Byrd Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

Dr. W. T. Lough Virginia State Corporation Commission Division of Energy Regulation P. O. Box 1197 Richmond, Virginia 23209

Old Dominion Electric Cooperative 4201 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060

Mr. J. H. McCarthy, Manager Nuclear Licensing & Operations Support Virginia Electric and Power Company Innsbrook Technical Center 5000 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060

Office of the Attorney General Commonwealth of Virginia 900 East Main Street Richmond, Virginia 23219

Senior Resident Inspector North Anna Power Station U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 1024 Haley Drive Mineral, Virginia 23117 North Anna Power Station Units 1 and 2 Surry Power Station Units 1 and 2

Mr. W. R. Matthews, Site Vice President North Anna Power Station P. O. Box 402 Mineral, Virginia 23117

Mr. J. P. O'Hanlon Senior Vice President - Nuclear Virginia Electric and Power Company Innsbrook Technical Center 5000 Dominion Blvd. Glen Allen, Virginia 23060

Mr. E. S. Grecheck, Site Vice President Surry Power Station Virginia Electric and Power Company 5570 Hog Island Road Surry, Virginia 23883

Robert B. Strobe, M.D., M.P.H. State Health Commissioner Office of the Commissioner Virginia Department of Health P.O. Box 2448 Richmond, Virginia 23218

Senior Resident Inspector Surry Power Station U. S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 5850 Hog Island Road Surry, Virginia 23883

Chairman Board of Supervisors of Surry County Surry County Courthouse Surry, Virginia 23683 Catawba Nuclear Station; and McGuire Nuclear Station

CC:

Mr. Gary Gilbert Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Ms. Lisa F. Vaughn Legal Department (PB05E) Duke Energy Corporation 422 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Anne Cottington, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW Washington, DC 20005

North Carolina Municipal Power Agency Number 1 1427 Meadowwood Boulevard P. O. Box 29513 Raleigh, North Carolina 27626

County Manager of York County York County Courthouse York, South Carolina 29745

Piedmont Municipal Power Agency 121 Village Drive Greer, South Carolina 29651

Ms. Karen E. Long Assistant Attorney General North Carolina Department of Justice P. O. Box 629 Raleigh, North Carolina 27602

Elaine Wathen, Lead REP Planner Division of Emergency Management 116 West Jones Street Raleigh, North Carolina 27603-1335 North Carolina Electric Membership Corporation P. O. Box 27306 Raleigh, North Carolina 27611

Senior Resident Inspector U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 4830 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Virgil R. Autry, Director Division of Radioactive Waste Management Bureau of Land and Waste Management Department of Health and Environmental Control 2600 Bull Street Columbia, South Carolina 29201-1708

L. A. Keller Manager - Nuclear Regulatory Licensing Duke Energy Corporation 526 South Church Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28201-1006

Saluda River Electric P. O. Box 929 Laurens, South Carolina 29360

Mr. Steven P. Shaver Senior Sales Engineer Westinghouse Electric Company 5929 Carnegie Blvd. Suite 500 Charlotte, North Carolina 28209

County Manager of Mecklenburg County 720 East Fourth Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202 Mr. T. Richard Puryear Owners Group (NCEMC) Duke Energy Corporation 4800 Concord Road York, South Carolina 29745

Richard M. Fry, Director Division of Radiation Protection North Carolina Department of Environment, Health, and Natural Resources 3825 Barrett Drive Raleigh, North Carolina 27609-7721 Michael T. Cash Regulatory Compliance Manager Duke Energy Corporation McGuire Nuclear Site 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

J. Michael McGarry, III, Esquire Winston and Strawn 1400 L Street, NW. Washington, DC 20005

Senior Resident Inspector c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 12700 Hagers Ferry Road Huntersville, North Carolina 28078

Dr. John M. Barry Mecklenberg County Department of Environmental Protection 700 N. Tryon Street Charlotte, North Carolina 28202 Distribution: Hard copy PUBLIC Docket File RLSB RF S. Duraiswamy, ACRS - T2E26 E. Hylton Receptionists (OWFN/TWFN) T5C3

E-mail;

- R. Zimmerman
- D. Matthews
- S. Newberry
- C. Grimes
- C. Carpenter
- B. Zalcman
- J. Strosnider
- R. Wessman
- G. Bagchi
- E. Imbro
- W. Bateman
- J. Calvo
- M. Tschiltz
- G. Holahan
- T. Collins
- C. Gratton
- B. Boger
- R. Correia
- R. Latta
- J. Moore
- J. Rutberg
- R. Weisman
- M. Mayfield
- S. Bahadur
- A. Murphy
- D. Martin
- W. McDowell
- S. Droggitis
- RLSB Staff

A. Thadani

- M. Federline
- C. Julian
- R. Gardner
- D. Chyu
- M. Modes
- J. Vora
- G. Edison
- N. Kalyanam
- F. Rinaldi
- P. Tam
- OPA

PMNS