

UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20555-0001

October 12, 1999

Mr. Raymond P. Necci Vice President-Nuclear Oversight and Regulatory Affairs c/o David A. Smith, Manager -Regulatory Affairs Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

SUBJECT: MILLSTONE NUCLEAR POWER STATION. UNIT 1 - PUBLIC MEETING

TRANSCRIPT (TAC NO. MA6059)

Dear Mr. Necci:

Enclosed for your information is a copy of the transcript of the public meeting held by the NRC staff, with participation by Northeast Nuclear Energy Company, on August 25, 1999, at the Waterford, Connecticut, Town Hall on the decommissioning program for Millstone, Unit 1. The transcript has been reviewed by the NRC staff and pen-and-ink corrections have been made in those instances where the transcript clearly does not reflect the actual words used by the various speakers.

The current distribution list for Millstone 1 has been expanded for this correspondence to include the individuals who placed their names and addresses on the transcript request form provided at the meeting. In addition, on October 5, 1999, an electronic file of the transcript (annotated in redline-strikeout format to include the pen-and-ink corrections to the paper copy) was placed on the NRC external website for public access. The URL address to access the transcript via the internet is

http://www.nrc.gov/NRC/PUBLIC/DECOMMISSIONING/transcript19990825.pdf

If you have any questions regarding this correspondence, please have your representative contact me at 301-415-1444.

Sincerely,

Louis L. Wheeler, Senior Project Manager

Decommissioning Section

Project Directorate IV & Decommissioning Division of Licensing Project Management Office of Nuclear Reactor Regulation

Docket No. 50-245

Enclosure: Transcript

cc w/encl: See next page

DF03

Millstone Nuclear Power Station Unit 1

CC:

Lillan M. Cuoco, Esquire Senior Nuclear Counsel Northeast Utilities Service Company P.O. Box 270 Hartford, CT 06141-0270

Edward L. Wilds, Jr., Ph.D.
Director, Division of Radiation
Department of Environmental
Protection
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127

Mr. Alian Johanson
Assistant Director
Office of Policy and Management
Policy Development and Planning
Division
450 Capitol Avenue - MS# 52ERN
P.O. Box 341441
Hartford, CT 06134-1441

Regional Administrator Region I U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406

First Selectmen Town of Waterford 15 Rope Ferry Road Waterford, CT 06385

Attorney Nicholas J. Scobbo, Jr. Ferriter, Scobbo, Caruso, Rodophele, PC 1 Beacon Street, 11th Floor Boston, MA 02108

Ernest C. Hadley, Esquire 1040 B Main Street P.O. Box 549 West Wareham, MA 02576 The Honorable Terry Concannon Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council Room 4035 Legislative Office Building Capitol Avenue Hartford, CT 06106

Mr. Evan W. Woollacott, Co-Chair Nuclear Energy Advisory Council 128 Terry's Plain Road Simsbury, CT 06070

Citizens Regulatory Commission ATTN: Ms. Geri Winslow P. O. Box 199 Waterford, CT 06385

Deborah Katz, President Citizens Awareness Network P.O. Box 83 Shelburne Falls, MA 03170

Mr. John Buckingham
Department of Public Utility Control
Electric Unit
10 Liberty Square
New Britain, CT 06051

Mr. D. A. Landeche Director - Unit 1 Operations Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P. O. Box 128 Waterford, Connecticut 06385

Millstone Nuclear Power Station Unit 1

CC:

Mr. John T. Carlin Vice President - Human Services Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Senior Resident Inspector Millstone Nuclear Power Station c/o U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission P.O. Box 513 Niantic, CT 06357

Mr. James Linville, Director Millstone Inspections Office of the Regional Administrator 475 Allendale Road King of Prussia, PA 19406-1415

Mr. F. C. Rothen Vice President - Nuclear Work Services Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. M. H. Brothers Vice President - Operations Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Leon J. Olivier, Vice President and Chief Nuclear Officer - Millstone Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. G. D. Hicks
Director - Nuclear Training Services (CT)
Northeast Utilities Service Company
P.O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Nancy Burton, Esquire 147 Cross Highway Redding Ridge, CT 06876

Mr. D. B. Amerine
Vice President - Engineering Services
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P.O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. D. A. Smith Manager - Regulatory Affairs Northeast Nuclear Energy Company P.O. Box 128 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. B. D. Kenyon
President and Chief Executive
Officer - NNECO
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P. O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. B. S. Ford
Director - Nuclear Safety and
Regulatory Affairs
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P. O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. R. G. Fraser
Director - Unit 1 Decommissioning
Northeast Nuclear Energy Company
P. O. Box 128
Waterford, CT 06385

Millstone Unit 1 Public Meeting

August 25, 1999

List of Attendees Requesting Transcript

Mr. Joe Besade 21 Fifth Avenue Waterford, CT 06385

Ira M. Turner P. O. Box 538 Niantic, CT 06357

J. A. Succo 17 Doyle Road Waterford, CT 06385-1537

Mr. Marv Rosenstein U.S. EPA - Region I 1 Congress Street Boston, MA 02114

Ms. Pearl Rathbun 74 Carriage Hill Drive Niantic, CT 06357

Mari Jaworsky P.O. Box 396 Colchester, CT 06415

Mr. David Rothstein U.S. EPA - Region I 1 Congress Street Suite 1100, Mail Code RLA Boston, MA 02114-2023

Mr. Roderick Knight (2) 22 Mountain View Terrace New Milford, CT 06776

Dr. Edward L. Wilds, Jr.
Director, Division of Radiation
CT Department of Environmental Protection
79 Elm Street
Hartford, CT 06106-5127

Mr. Anthony DeFrancesco, Jr. 297 Burnside Avenue East Hartford, CT 06108

L. H. Curtis c/o Bechtel Power Corporation 5325 Spectrum Drive Frederick, MD 21703-8388

S. M. Pope 411 Midsummer Drive Gaithersburg, MD 20878

Siva Kumar 4 Park Avenue, Apt-12F New York, NY 10016

Mr. James L. McCleer 54 Rope Ferry Road, B21 Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Nick William P.O. Box 911 New London, CT 06326

Mr. Tom Nauman Stone & Webster Company 245 Summer Street Boston, MA 02210

Mr. Jeffrey Martin NES, Inc. 44 Shelter Rock Road Danbury, CT 06810

Mr. Stephen Newman 177 Nautilus Drive, #18 New London, CT 06320

List of Attendees Requesting Transcript-continued

Ms. Gwendolyn Bosco 276 Boston Post Road Waterford, CT 06385

Representative Andrea L. Stillman 5 Coolidge Court Waterford, CT 06385

Mr. Gerald Reardon 56 Welles Drive North Newington, CT 06111 J. W. Sheehan 19 Laurel Crest Drive Waterford, CT 06385

Terrence V. McIntosh 10 Bear Path Court Cheshire, CT 06410

Mr. Terry Concannon Co-chair NEAC 41 S. Buckboard Lane Marlborough, CT 06447