

## UNITED STATES NUCLEAR REGULATORY COMMISSION WASHINGTON, D. C. 20555

December 29, 1999

Dr. Belinda L. Collins, Chair Interagency Committee on Standards Policy National Institute of Standards and Technology 100 Bureau Drive, Bldg. 820, Room 282 Gaithersburg, Maryland 20899-2100

Dear Dr. Collins:

Under OMB Circular A-119, "Federal Participation in the Development and Use of Voluntary Consensus Standards and in Conformity Assessment Activities," the Commission shall appoint a Standards Executive to serve as the agency representative on the Interagency Committee on Standards Policy (ICSP) and to coordinate NRC implementation of the Circular. I am appointing Mr. Michael E. Mayfield to replace Mr. John W. Craig as the NRC Standards Executive. Mr. Mayfield is the Acting Director of the Division of Engineering Technology (DET) in the Office of Nuclear Regulatory Research. Mr. Craig, previously Director of DET, has been reassigned to new managerial responsibilities in the Office of the Executive Director for Operations. Mr. Gilbert C. Millman will continue to provide staff support to the NRC Standards Executive and serve as liaison with the National Institute of Standards and Technology staff that support the ICSP.

Please contact Mr. Mayfield if you have any questions about this letter. You may reach him at:

U.S. Nuclear Regulatory Commission ATTN: Mr. Michael E. Mayfield

M/S: T-10E10

Washington, D.C. 20555-0001

Voice: (301) 415-6690

Fax: (301) 415-5074 E-mail: mem2@nrc.gov

Sincerely

Richard A. Meserve